George the Collie Vs Pet names for Pets.

‘What’s in a name?’ Was asked many years ago. Way before I was born anyway. 

You get born and you get a name, that’s pretty much how it works and I doubt there are many people out there without a name.

So, you get born, you get a name – simple so far. I was Colin but when my folks picked me up I became George, Colin became my middle name (I wanted it to be ‘Danger’ but they wouldn’t have it) and you’d think that’d be it but you’d be wrong.

I have a ‘pet name’.


I’ve seen this with people. Most people have real names and then have a pet name and/or a nickname. How many names do you want?

Celebrities seem to collect them, changing it to promote some new product. That’s not me.

It all seems natural though. They know your real name and they do use it but then they give you this other name and you have to learn that too? Learning names, commands and stuff all takes time but when they then call YOU a DIFFERENT name…………..it just confuses things.

The next issue is what the name is.

If you could CHOOSE a name, your actual name, would you change it from what you have? Unlikely, but what about nicknames or pet names?

Nicknames usually come about from a funny/embarrassing situation and are usually intended as a lighthearted barb. Sometimes there is malice behind it but this is rare. If you want a nickname to stick, it needs a hook. 

If you have a nickname, are you happy with it? Would you like to change it and, if so, what to and why?

My pet name? Muffin. 

Muffin. 


Of all the pet names I could have had, I get ‘Muffin’.

It could have been Butch, Savage, MC Barkley, G-Unit…….you get the gist……but, no, I get Muffin.

Now, this may not stay but I certainty am not trying to make it stick. 

But, really, I’m at a loss. I have been trying to think of a different one that would suit me but I can’t yet so maybe it will stick. Only time will tell but, if not, I’m happy being called George.


Muffin. 😒

Author: George the Border Collie Dog 🐶

The life and times of a #British #BorderCollie #dog. Fan of Cheese 🧀, Socks & tummy rubs.

Leave a Reply

