George the Collie Vs. Fine Art.

I’m not uncultured but….

I’m not uncultured. 

I’ve travelled and dined on fine food on five continents. I’ve seen and been in and on wonders if the world, ancient and modern.

https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Wonders_of_the_World

I’ve been about, in a good way.

I like music, cinema and art but like everything in life, you can’t honestly like everything.

My tastes are broad and usually not based on any education – I try to keep it simple. If i like something, I like it. I may not be able to articulate everything I think and feel about what I’m experiencing but I can give you an idea.

So, today, I am at Tate Liverpool and viewing an exhibit about Tracey Emin and William Blake.

http://www.tate.org.uk/whats-on/tate-liverpool/exhibition/tracey-emin-and-william-blake-focus

http://jonathanturley.org/2017/02/23/unmade-bed-goes-for-over-three-million-dollars-at-art-auction/

I’ve been to other ‘twinned’ exhibits where they have told a story and drawn comparisons between a pair of artists and they can be interesting but today I just didn’t get it.

Just can get into most major galleries and exhibits free these days and I imagine that, overall, the understanding of art in the country has increased but, today, I was struggling to see it.

https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Tracey_Emin

I’ve seen stuff by Emin before and don’t dislike her stuff at all. I don’t ‘believe’ some of what she does but that just my opinion. As for Blake, I knew next to nothing.

https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/William_Blake

I found a lot of his stuff on display dark but the construction and composition of some of his work was interesting.

What I didn’t see was the suggested links between the two artists. I know the gallery told me they were there, I just didn’t see them on show.

What I did see was one piece by Blake in which there were a couple of chaos in some distress. They were experiencing something that I could connect with on quite a basic level.


I was look at the guys in torment and the two males scratching at their own backs.

They both look in some discomfort and unable to ‘hit the spot’, unable to scratch that itch.


And so, in this gallery, amongst the world famous art, looking at this image, the way this work of art connected with me, the thought that went through my head was ‘we have all been there, I feel your pain mate’

As I said, I’m not uncultured but sometimes I just don’t get it.

Author: George the Border Collie Dog 🐶

The life and times of a #British #BorderCollie #dog. Fan of Cheese 🧀, Socks & tummy rubs.

Leave a Reply

