Being right and sticking your nose in

The rights and wrongs of rights.

People are judgemental, it’s unavoidable. Even if you don’t say it, you think it or unconscious bias creeps in and makes the decision for you. 

There’s no getting away from it.

Likely everyday you’ll see something that you don’t agree with and your initial reaction may be to do or say something but just because it’s something you believe to be right, it may not always the right to stick you nose in.

There are numerous, more common issues that seem to polarise people’s opinions, smacking children, begging, discipline of pets, claiming benefits or immigration status – so many points.

It seems now that if you speak about issues that are slightly contentious then you are on thin ice, playing with fire, almost as if you are not allowed an opinion without being placed into a group, left wing, right wing, liberal, conservative etc.

Take the chastising of children. Is it okay to smack children? If so, how hard? Can you use an implement? As a child I was smack and hit with slippers, wooden spoons, even a pool cue once.

Whilst I don’t think these experiences adversely affected me, it certainly makes me think about how far is too far. There is such a legally acceptable thing as lawful chastisement but it is the application of force that is the grey area. 

‘Spare the rod, spoil the child’ so the saying goes but clearly that has to be a limit and if you obsevered someone smacking their child what would you do? Would you step in or stay back. If that person is acting lawfully, what right do you have to intervene?

Sometimes, even if it goes against what you believe, you have to let things be. 

You may not agree with what a preacher is saying but, with freedom of speech they have the right. You may not agree with people born outside of the country claiming welfare support but those are the laws of our land.

We should support the freedoms of our laws but not be restricted in expressing our views.

It’s a tricky one.

Think on.

Author: George the Border Collie Dog 🐢

The life and times of a #British #BorderCollie #dog. Fan of Cheese πŸ§€, Socks & tummy rubs.

5 thoughts on “Being right and sticking your nose in”

  1. I’ve never been hit in my life; for me it was always, “stop that or I’ll take away you favorite toy” or “if you don’t do this you don’t get to go visit your friend.” If I didn’t behave I lost my privileges. My mother claims it worked just fine.

    Like

      1. That’s for sure. Yeah I don’t know if I’m a good judge of that. I don’t think I’m a bad person but I may be biased. πŸ˜‰ But my dogs love me so I can’t be all that bad.

        Like

Leave a Reply

